32 line up for Africa U-20 final selection

A 32- member provisional Under-20 national football team has been selected as Zambia prepares to host the 2017 Africa Under-20 Cup of Nations tournament from February 26 to March 12 next year.

U-20 national team manager Daniel Jere released the provisional squad yesterday with the players scheduled to enter residential camp at the Football Association of Zambia (FAZ) technical centre in Lusaka from July 17 to 21.

Defender Boyd Mkandawire,  striker Conlyde Luchanga, midfielders Paul Katema, Patson Daka, Patrick Ngoma and Fashion Sakala are the notable players making the list.

Zambia faces a tough test as hosts with the Minister of Sports Vincent Mwale challenging  Football House to ensure the boys were adequately prepared for the task.

“We are going to host this tournament and cannot afford to be booted out in first round.

I challenge FAZ to put up a squad that will win Zambia the title; the title must remain here,” he said. National Heroes Stadium in Lusaka and Ndola’s Levy Mwanawasa will be the host venues for the games.

Seven other African teams are expected to join Zambia in the tournament that will see top three teams qualify for the Under-20 World Cup.

The provisional squad include goalkeepers: Mangani Banda (Zanaco), Tresford Mulenga (Kabwe Warriors), Dominic Nzala (Power Dynamos), Samson Banda (Zesco United), Justine Chisenga (Chikuni Coops).

Defenders : Boyd Mkandawire (Napsa Stars), Shemmy  Mayembe (Zesco United), Jonathan Daka (Lumwana Radiants), Solomon  Sakala (Kabwe Warriors), Daniel Simuzosha (Chawama United),  Alfred Chirwa (Intersport), Prosper Chilufya (Kafue Celtics), Wayne Museba  (Kabwe Warriors) Mweetwa Mweetwa (Zesco United).

Midfielders: George Mandu (Red Arrows), Emmauel Banda (Nchanga Rangers), Simon Sakala (Young Buffaloes), Collins Sikombe (Napsa Stars) , John Musonda (Green Buffaloes), Paul  Katema (Red Arrows) , Fashion Sakala (Zanaco) , Chrispin Sakulanda (Mufulira Wanderers),  Siame Musonda (Kafue Celtics), Kasashi Lupiya (Zesco United), Boyd Musonda  (Zanaco).

Strikers: Patson Daka  (Power Dynamos), Patrick Ngoma (Red Arrows),  Moses Phiri (Konkola Blades),  Harrison Chisala  (Nkana), Allan Chirwa (Green Buffaloes),  Mukumbuta Masialeti  (Green Buffaloes), Conlyde Luchanga ( Lusaka Dynamos).

Categorized | Sport

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsor

Jevic Japanese Auto Inspections

Social Widgets powered by AB-WebLog.com.