Presidential supporters verification exercise begins


By Nation Reporter

THE VERIFICATION exercise for presidential supporters in the August general elections has commenced in North-Western province with Peoples Alliance for Change being the first party to have its supporters verified.

Speaking in an interview shortly after the commencement of the exercise, Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) Commissioner Justice Christopher Mushabati said the commission is screening the 100 supporters for each presidential candidates participating in this year’s elections.

Justice Mushabati said the verification would go up to Friday and described the process as peaceful.

He said all the seven political parties participating in this year’s general elections have been given slots on which their supporters were to be screened.

He said the required 100 supporters’ verification standard set by the Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ ) had to be taken with seriousness as failure to adhere to this would lead to disqualification of their respective presidential candidates from filling in their nominations.

‘’I can confirm that the verification exercise has commenced, and it will go up to Friday. And so far I can safely say that the exercise is moving on well,” he said.

He said the 100 provincial presidential supporters verification would only take place in all the provincial centres, adding that even supporters from other districts to make a total of 100 was accepted.

“Key amongst all the supporters were the provincial executive committee members for all the political parties because they will be representatives of presidential candidates,” Justice Mushabati said. He said the verification of 100 provincial presidential supporters has come as a result of changes in the amended Constitution of Zambia and implored all the interested parties to read and understand all the rules governing this year’s elections

‘’Political parties have an obligation of ensuring that all the procedures required for one to qualify for an election are followed,” he said. The seven political parties are the ruling Patriotic Front,(PF) United Party for National Development (UPND) Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD),Movement for Multi-Party Democracy,(MMD),United National Independence Party (UNIP),Green Party, Rainbow Party, and Peoples’ Alliance for Change (PAC).

Categorized | Home News

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsor

Jevic Japanese Auto Inspections

Social Widgets powered by