Nkoyas are under BRE

Kuomboka ceremony





THIS is in response to your publications on Nkoya chief Mwene Mutondo. Please, publish my letter in order to remove innuendos, being peddled by enemies of Barotseland.

I stand not inspired by your egoistic approach to the issues above which are beyond  your understanding.

I earlier rejected your publications about  Nkoyas especially the Nkoya chief Mwene Mutondo of Shikombwe chiefdom of Barotseland monarch.

Chief Mwene Mutondo is one of the 13 chiefs under Naliele Kuta which is the seat of Barotse monarch. There are only two chiefs of Nkoya in Kaoma district of Barotseland.

These chiefs represent  chiefdoms which are known as LILALO (plural) and SILALO (singular). For chiefs to represent the people at chiefdom level they have to be installed by the King (Litunga) and these chiefs are known as  Silalo Indunas.

The monarch hierarchy system in Kaoma district is under Resident Prince Isiteketo Amukena. The government seat of Kaoma district is Naliele Kuta, the regional Ngambela is Imangambwa.

The Naliele Kuta has seven councillors and 14 chiefdoms with 13 chiefs. Here are the names of the chiefdoms with their corresponding chief who are responsible for certification of documents for the purposes of obtaining  National Registration Cards (NRCs) as required under the Zambian National Registration Act. Below are chiefdoms and chiefs of Kaoma district of Barotseland.


CHIEFDOM               CHIEF

1) Lukute————–Mwanambuyu

2) Liyunyi————– Iluya

3) Kahumbu———— Mwenetete

4) Mayukwayukwa—- Mufaya

5) Litoya —————Mwene Kahare

6) Nalifalamba——— Siwiwaliondo

7) Kaaba—————— Kasabi

8) Mulamatila———– Libinga

9) Luambuwa ——— Kabilamwandi

10) Shikombwe — Mwene Mutondo

11) Mulwa————-Kanguya

12) Sishamba———–Kakumba

13) Lalafuta————- Kasimba

Finally, allow me to briefly run through the government structure of Barotseland for the sake of bringing light to the people of Zambia including  media houses who are in darkness or indescribable ignorance. The Barotse system of governance has several tiers from the central government to the village. The first of these tiers is the Namuso (literally translated as the Mother of Government).  This is the central government of Barotseland with His Majesty The Litunga as the Head of State, and the Ngambela (Sope or Minyolui (the latter literary meaning owner of Barotseland)  as the Prime Minister and head of the government.

The second governance tier is the regional governments which include the Lwambi in charge of the southern part of Barotseland. It is headed by Litunga-La-Mboela, which means the Litunga of the South.

Other regions are also headed by resident Princes or Princesses, Malena. The third tier consists of chiefdoms and or administrative areas.

Each chiefdom is headed by a chief or sub chief sometimes called Silalo Indunas. The administrative areas are referred to as Lilalo. A Silalo (singular) has an Induna who is its political, administrative and judicial head.

The last governance tier in Barotseland consists of villages (Minzi). Munzi (singular) has an Induna who is its political, administrative and judicial head.

Barotseland since 1947 undertook democratic processes commensurate with systems applied in the developed world. Following the 1947 Barotse Constitutional reforms, at which point a Katengo (Legislative Council) was introduced. It is sad to mention that all these structures  were terminated by Mr Kenneth Kaunda in 1965 who  and deceived Zambians into not  believing the plain truth that Barotseland was a fully fledged state.

I believe Daily Nation will take a leaf and stop misleading its followers on a non-existent issue of a Nkoya silalo Induna  (former kapaso-court messager) Mwene Mutondo, who is not a factor in Kaoma district at all.

Saleya Kwalombota


Categorized | Home News

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsor

Jevic Japanese Auto Inspections

Social Widgets powered by AB-WebLog.com.