Janza drops Chamanga


VETERAN Chipolopolo striker James Chamanga is among four national soccer team players who have been dropped from the final squad which travels to Equatorial Guinea for the prestigious Africa Cup of Nations (AfCON) tournament.

Other players left out are goalkeeper Toaster Nsabala, Red Arrows defender Bronson Chama and Zimbabwe-based defender Aaron Katebe.

Chipolopolo coach Honour Janza opted for the Under-20 striker Patrick Ngoma in place of Katebe.

Janza has also opted for several Afcon debutants in the squad. These include Ronald ‘Sate Sate’ Kampamba, Spencer Sautu, Rodrick Kabwe, Lubambo Musonda, Bruce Musakanya and Jackson Mwanza.

The coach announced the final squad yesterday in Johannesburg, South Africa, where the team is camped.

Janza also included three injured players – first choice goalkeeper Kennedy Mweene, and midfielders Nathan Sinkala and Chisamba Lungu.

The coach said it was important to invest in young players for the good of football development.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene (Mamelodi Sundowns), Joshua Titima (Power Dynamos), Danny Munyao (Red Arrows).

Defenders: Stopilla Sunzu (Shanghai Greenland Shenhua), Christopher Munthali (Power Dynamos), Davies Nkausu (Bloemfontein Celtic), Rodrick ‘Rodriguez’ Kabwe (Zanaco), Emmanuel Mbola (HapoelRa’anana, Israel).

Midfielders: Nathan Sinkala (Grasshopper CZ, Switzerland), Chisamba Lungu (FC Ural Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia), Kondwani Mtonga (ZescoUtd), Spencer Sautu (Choma Green Eagles), Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe), Lubambo Musonda (Ulisses Yerevan F.C, Armenia), Mukuka Mulenga (Bloemfontein Celtic ), Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows).

Strikers: Ronald ‘Sate Sate’ Kampamba (Nkana), Given Singuluma (TP Mazembe), Jackson Mwanza (Zesco United), Emmanuel Mayuka (Southampton), Evans Kangwa (Hapoel Ra’anana), and Patrick Ngoma (Red Arrows).

Categorized | Sport

Comments are closed.

Our Sponsor

Jevic Japanese Auto Inspections

Social Widgets powered by AB-WebLog.com.